Spoken Word

ACCEPTING ME

 

Younger days I remember…

A mirrored image staring back at me.

Coarse hair, full lips, broad nose

the darkness of my skin caused me to be treated differently.

Why me I asked?

Who is this person staring back at me?

I wanted to be different;

I wanted silky hair that blew easily by the breeze,

if only my lips were thin, my nose narrow,

and my skin shades lighter.

I am sure things would come easy to me in life

 

Older days are here now..

The mirrors image staring back at me.

Thickness of my hair symbolizes the regality of my ancestors;

the fullness of these lips only personifies

the knowledge that is spoken through them.

The broadness of my nose

only enhances the pride in my face when I hold my head up high.

Things now come easy to me in life.

I look in the mirror and staring back at me

is beauty and confidence…

the essence, the blackness of me!

                                                   –  S. Marie

 

Share your Thoughts

